A Vision of K-12 Students Today

I have spent more time surfing You Tube this week than ever before. In fact, previously I avoided it, thinking it was just a bunch of uploaded home movies that had little relevance to me and what I do. Wrong. There is some great stuff out there, and I thought this video was a really nice reminder of our roles as educators. It gives us a glimpse of really how much we limit learners if we rely on old ways of doing things and stay resistant to change. If we hesitate to go out on a limb and try new software, applications, and tools.

I can relate. When I first got into teaching, I knew nothing about computers. When it came time for our weekly “Computer Class”, I had no idea what to do, and how to make technology something meaningful and useful. It was rather a fun “free time” activity. I often ended up word-processing.

Well, I took action and first learned on a Windows computer. I learned how to use the internet and do email …. and from there the journey began. I got more and more into it, and have reached the point where I am now a lover of Macs, incorporate new ideas into my teaching all the time, and use technology on a daily basis in a variety ways. I love “messing around” with new tech, and embrace ideas my students bring to class.

Our role is to prepare our students for life, teaching them the skills and understandings necessary to succeed with whatever they pursue. Watching this video puts a whole lot of that into perspective. I do wonder about the students in my class right now … and what is ahead of them.

Below is another video which I was exposed to at a workshop I attended about a year ago. Similar message, but slightly different route taken.

And finally, another video I found which made me think a lot about where we are headed, and my responsibility.

Well, only time will tell. Let’s give them a chance though šŸ™‚

~ by yamaguru on February 28, 2009.

One Response to “A Vision of K-12 Students Today”

  1. YouTube is full of excellent educational videos! I just did a short recap of some great videos I found over the past few weeks, and I keep all of the videos I find useful bookmarked in my Delicious and Diigo accounts. Keep searching – there’s much more to find!

Leave a Reply

 
