Why blog?

Besides this being the reflection tool for our course Information Literacy and Ourselves as Learners taken through ISB, I am trying to figure out how exactly I will use this blog, looking long term.

Obviously, the goal of this course is to encourage us to develop our own PLN (Personal Learning Network). I have to say that in the past few weeks, I have gained a lot from everything I have been exposed to, from Skype interviews and online streamed “classes”, to blogs posted by other teachers and their thoughts about everything to do with technology and learning. It has been really great, and given me a motivational push to learn more and apply new ideas to my classroom, even when there are definite limitations (hardware, space, time, etc). Through our latest f2f meeting on January 11th, the following couple of thoughts or ideas stood out:

1) embed technology into your teaching in the classroom

Look. To be fair to the kids, we have to. They need to be exposed to the vast number of new ideas. We don’t have to teach them everything, but we should at least open their eyes a little and then let go. If we have modeled appropriate usage, their habits should reflect this.

2) Book reviews/ literature reflection using Photo Booth video

A simple concept, but one I haven’t tried yet. I love the idea of getting away from the “paper & pencil” book reports. This should be interesting, and with a little guidance, very worthwhile. I also like the idea of uploading to YouTube once they are done.

– upload picture of book or student holds book and then talk away … follow format or free speech?

So my purpose for blogging is twofold I guess. First, I know I need to reflect on what I am reading and learning. I can handle this, although it is very new to me. I am aware I don’t reflect enough …

But, I also plan to use my postings as a scrapbook of ideas – I want to save videos, links, blog postings, and all the other great ideas I pick up from my colleagues. This is incredible PD, and I want to preserve what I am learning.

Finally, I also ask myself if this will make some sort of professional learning portfolio? Not a bad idea …

Why blog …. why not?

~ by yamaguru on February 13, 2009.

One Response to “Why blog?”

  1. I love your statement:

    Look. To be fair to the kids, we have to. They need to be exposed to the vast number of new ideas. We don’t have to teach them everything, but we should at least open their eyes a little and then let go. If we have modeled appropriate usage, their habits should reflect this.

    Well said!

Leave a Reply

 
