How my thoughts are changing …

Bloom’s taxonomy … and connectivism. As I work my way through the early stages of this course, and the readings that go with it, I guess my thoughts are not so much changing, as becoming a bit clearer with the role I play regarding learning and my students. I feel that the old school of learning spent a lot of time at the bottom of the chart – knowledge or remembering (on the new one). Once in a while, we creep up the ladder as we ask students to explain their understanding. Rarely did I get higher than that, especially when I was in school.

I really like the way the new version of Bloom’s Taxonomy uses verbs rather than nouns. I also found the descriptors very useful. And when I refer to the digital taxonomy, it becomes very practical for me. Having had a look at this chart, I can see where I want to go with my teaching style, and how different skills can be embedded into our daily classroom practice.

Key:
Elements coloured in black are recognised and existing verbs, Elements coloured in blue are new digital verbs. Taken from: Tech&Learning

Something I realized when I looked at this chart was that I possibly spend most of my time (and class time) on the bottom levels (remembering & understanding) before I jump to the top, and creating. I may need to slow down a bit and have students spend more time applying and analyzing what they have done. This is quite likely a reflection of my way of doing things … I am always pushing on to the next task planned, and rarely feel comfortable saying to the students … all right, mess around. Apply what you have just learned or experienced, and try something different. And while you are at it, teach each other would you? Quite likely, this is where the real learning may happen.

The idea of connectivism is a real one. We now know that a “capacity to form connections between sources of information, and thereby create useful information patterns, is required to learn in our knowledge economy” eLearnSpace … This is key. With what we are able to access these days, “learning is no longer an internal, individualistic activity” eLearnSpace. Networking, and exchanging information with others, is essential. There is so much out there, and it is changing so fast, that we need to shift away from acquiring static knowledge individually, to realizing that information is constantly evolving, and forming connections is the most effective way to stay up to date. We cannot rely on one person to “teach” us.

The video we viewed earlier in the course really sums it up nicely.

Again, I don’t think my thoughts are changing… but my eyes are opening to what is ahead.

~ by yamaguru on February 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
